Jun’ichiro Sekino’s Tokaido 53 Stations

Sekino produced his Tokaido 53 Stations series of the course of 15 years, beginning in 1960. The stations are shown below, in the same order that Hiroshige used for his famous Fifty-three Stations of the Tokaido Road series published by Hoeido in 1833. Also like the Hiroshige series, there are a total of 55 prints in the Sekino series, beginning with Nihonbashi (the starting point) and Kyoto (the end point). It is also interesting to note that Sekino did not produce the prints in this series, as evidenced by the dates on the images below. Click on on the images to enlarge.